I2C and Port Expander

Hi rapidM2M Community!

I am a beginner with M2M Base Starter. I need to control a PortExpander with I2C. Are there any examples of how to send the right Bytes (start, address, R/W, ACK, Data and Stop bits)?
I am using the command: rM2M_I2cCom(i2c, adr, data{}, txlen, rxlen); however, I am not for sure if I use this command right.

Best regards,
Jakob

Hi Jakob,

There are several examples available using I2C (see Basic_Examples_Collection).
Currently we do not have an example for a port expander, but the device address and the right data bytes are dependent on your used device. Usually this information can be found in the device datasheet.

best regards,
Gregor

Hi,
Thank you for your answer.

I am using the commands which I found in the documentation and in some examples in the Basic_Examples_Collection.

new Data{8} = 0xFF;

Result = rM2M_I2cInit(PORT_I2C, 40000, 0);
	#log("rM2M_I2cInit(%d) \r\n", Result);

i2cResult = rM2M_I2cCom(PORT_I2C, 01000000, Data, 1 , 0);
	printf("rM2M_I2cCom(%d) \r\n", i2cResult);

The device address ist 0100, A0, A1 and A2 are on GND => 0 and the W/R is on 0 for write.
But the line:
printf("rM2M_I2cCom(%d) \r\n", i2cResult);
shows:
11:15:32.034 rM2M_I2cCom(-11)

But I don’t understand why this error is thrown?
Does someone know what I am doing wrong?

best regards
Jakob

Hi Jakob,

The correct binary numeric constant for your address is 0b01000000.
In your code the address is decimal 1000000 and therefor you get the -11 error (see rM2M.inc file for explanation) because this address is not available on the I2C bus -> I2C communication is aborted.

best regards,
Gregor

Hi Gregor,

I changed the binary numeric constant for my address to 0b01000000.
But I still get the -11 error.

I also changed the Data to: new data{0} = 0xFF;

So I have:
rM2M_I2cCom(PORT_I2C, 0b01000000, data,1,0);
When I run the Programm I still have the -11 error.
But when I changed the txlen from 1 to 0 the error is gone.